- A CIME is a Certified Independent Medical Examiner, credentialed by the American Board of Independent Medical Examiners (ABIME).
- The dated 2026 physician exam fee is US$995, with required training costing extra.
- The verified sitting time is four hours, delivered as an online examination.
- ABIME's August 2026 AMA6 course covers seven preparation areas, from Guides methodology to complex case studies.
What a CIME Actually Is
A CIME is a Certified Independent Medical Examiner: a physician who has earned a credential demonstrating competence in conducting impartial medical evaluations. These evaluations typically answer questions that arise in injury claims, disability determinations, and medicolegal disputes. The examiner is not the claimant's treating doctor and is not an advocate for either side. The role exists to produce an objective, defensible medical opinion.
If you have seen the acronym elsewhere and wondered whether it refers to something else, it is worth being precise. On this site, CIME means only the Certified Independent Medical Examiner credential. For quick-reference explanations of the term itself, see our pages on what CIME stands for and CIME meaning.
What a CIME Does in Practice
The day-to-day work of an independent medical examiner centers on a structured evaluation and a written report. The physician reviews records, takes a history, performs an examination, and then answers specific questions posed by the party requesting the evaluation. Those questions commonly include whether an injury is related to a particular event, whether the claimant has reached maximum medical improvement, what functional limitations exist, and how much permanent impairment remains.
Impairment Rating and the AMA Guides
A major portion of the work involves assigning impairment ratings using the AMA Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment. ABIME offers AMA5 and AMA6 offerings, and the preparation route referenced throughout this article follows the AMA Guides sixth-edition (AMA6) impairment-evaluation training. Rating work demands precision: choosing the correct table, applying grade modifiers, and documenting the reasoning so another physician could follow it.
The Written Report
The report is the product. A strong independent examination report states the records reviewed, the history obtained, the findings, the methodology applied, and the conclusions, each tied to the evidence. Because reports are scrutinized, the discipline of showing your work matters as much as the medicine itself.
Who Issues the Credential
The Certified Independent Medical Examiner credential is issued by the American Board of Independent Medical Examiners (ABIME). The examination is delivered online. The specific third-party proctoring or testing vendor has not been identified in the materials reviewed, so confirm proctoring arrangements directly with ABIME when you register.
For a broader orientation to the credential, our overview pages on what CIME certification is and CIME certification cover the same ground from different angles.
Who Hires and Retains CIMEs
Independent medical examiners are engaged by parties who need an unbiased medical opinion. In general terms, the groups that retain them include:
- Insurance carriers and third-party administrators evaluating claims and disability benefits
- Attorneys on either side of personal injury, workers' compensation, and disability matters
- Employers and self-insured entities managing occupational injury cases
- Courts, tribunals, and agencies that need a neutral medical assessment
- Independent examination companies that contract physicians to perform evaluations on their behalf
Many examiners combine this work with a clinical practice, while others build a predominantly medicolegal career. If you are weighing the career side, see our look at CIME jobs and the CIME salary guide. We deliberately avoid quoting earnings figures here because no verified number applies across settings; compensation varies with region, volume, and how you structure your practice.
Eligibility and Training
Eligibility rests on qualifying medical licensure, practice and specialty credentials, and professional conduct. This is a physician credential, so a valid license and an appropriate specialty background form the foundation.
Because required training is a separate expense from the examination fee, your total outlay is larger than the exam price alone. Our CIME requirements guide walks through qualification steps, and the CIME training page covers the course side in more depth.
How the Examination Works
Here is what can be stated with confidence, and what cannot, as of the reviewed sources.
| Item | What Is Known |
|---|---|
| Issuing body | American Board of Independent Medical Examiners (ABIME) |
| Delivery | Online examination; proctor/testing vendor not identified |
| Physician exam fee (dated 2026) | US$995; no member/non-member split found; required training is extra |
| Sitting time | Four hours (verified) |
| Availability window | Copy varies between 24 hours and one week |
| Question count | Unverified for 2026; an archival booklet mentions 120 multiple-choice questions |
| Passing score | Numerical score not published in reviewed current materials |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
The honest summary is that several details candidates want most are not publicly confirmed. The 120-question figure comes from an archival booklet and should not be treated as the 2026 format. Likewise, the weighted domain breakdown has not been verified for the current exam, so avoid any resource that claims precise percentage weights. For more on this uncertainty, read our pages on the CIME passing score and CIME pass rate, and see CIME exam dates for scheduling considerations.
Rules around calculators, reference books, and proctoring are also not confirmed in the current materials. Ask ABIME directly what you may have at hand during the sitting, because assuming an open-book or closed-book format can cost you.
What the Fee Does and Does Not Cover
The US$995 figure is the dated 2026 physician exam fee. It is not a bundle that includes the training hours you must complete. Add the course cost, plus any renewal or registry charges later (current renewal and registry charges are unverified), when you budget. Our CIME certification cost breakdown and the ROI analysis help you weigh the total.
The Seven Preparation Areas
ABIME's August 2026 AMA6 course organizes preparation into seven areas. It is important to read these correctly: they are unweighted issuer-course preparation topics, not an official weighted or exhaustive examination blueprint. Treat them as the structure of your training, then supplement with broader medicolegal study. Our CIME exam domains guide expands on each one.
Domain 1: Key Concepts and Methodology of AMA Guides Chapters 1 and 2
The foundation for everything else. You must understand how the Guides define impairment, how ratings are derived, and the principles that govern their use.
- Distinction between impairment and disability
- Rating methodology and grade-modifier logic
- Rules for combining and documenting ratings
Domain 2: Spine Impairment Rating
Spinal conditions are among the most common subjects of independent evaluations, making this a high-yield area.
- Diagnosis-based impairment approach for the spine
- Applying the correct region and class
- Integrating exam findings and clinical studies
Domain 3: Upper and Lower Limb Impairment Rating
Extremity injuries drive a large share of claims. Expect to move between regions and tables with accuracy.
- Regional grids for the upper and lower limb
- Functional history, physical exam, and clinical studies as modifiers
- Avoiding duplicate or overlapping ratings
Domain 4: Nervous System Impairment Rating
Neurological impairment requires careful correlation of deficits with objective findings.
- Rating central and peripheral nervous system conditions
- Cranial nerve, brain, and spinal cord considerations
- Linking documented deficits to the correct classification
Domain 5: Psychiatric Impairment Rating
Psychiatric evaluation brings distinct challenges around consistency, validity, and functional assessment.
- Structured approach to rating mental and behavioral disorders
- Assessing function and distinguishing symptoms from impairment
- Documenting the basis for conclusions
Domain 6: Internal Medicine, Pulmonary, Cardiology, Eye and ENT Impairment
A broad systems area spanning several body organs, where breadth matters as much as depth.
- Organ-system criteria and the testing that supports them
- Matching objective test results to impairment classes
- Recognizing which chapter governs a given condition
Domain 7: AMA6 Complex Case Studies
The integrating domain, where methodology meets realistic scenarios involving multiple body systems or competing considerations.
- Working a case from record review to a final rating
- Choosing among competing tables and justifying the choice
- Handling multi-system presentations
Sequencing Your Preparation
Because the content builds on itself, order matters more than raw hours. Start with Domain 1, since every later rating depends on understanding the Guides' methodology. Move through the body-region domains next, then finish with the case studies that force you to combine everything. For a fuller plan, see our CIME study guide and the one-page CIME cheat sheet.
Methodology and the Spine
- Master Chapters 1 and 2 before touching any body-region table
- Work spine rating, since the grid logic recurs elsewhere
Limbs and Nervous System
- Practice regional limb ratings, watching for overlap
- Tie neurological deficits to objective findings
Psychiatric, Systems, and Cases
- Cover psychiatric and multi-organ-system chapters
- Finish with complex case studies as a capstone
As you progress, test yourself rather than only rereading. A free run through our CIME practice tests shows which domains need more attention, and you can return to the main practice site as the sitting approaches. Candidates curious about difficulty can compare notes in how hard the CIME exam is.
Keeping the Credential Current
Certification follows a five-year cycle built on a 100-point maintenance requirement. Sixty points come from continuing medical education or professional development earned in the most recent three years. The remaining forty points come through a recertification examination or the ACIME MAPP route. Current renewal and registry charges have not been verified, so plan to confirm costs when your cycle begins.
Key Takeaway
Treat CME as a continuous habit rather than a last-minute scramble. Logging relevant education across the cycle keeps the 60 CME/CPD points manageable and leaves you free to choose between the exam and MAPP route for the final 40.
CIME Compared With Other Roles
It helps to see where the CIME sits relative to neighboring roles a physician might hold.
| Role | Relationship to Patient | Primary Purpose |
|---|---|---|
| Treating physician | Ongoing care relationship | Diagnose and treat the patient |
| Independent medical examiner (CIME) | No treatment relationship | Objective evaluation for a stated question or claim |
| Retained expert witness | Engaged for litigation | Provide opinion testimony in a legal matter |
The CIME credential signals that the physician has been trained and tested in the methods of fair, evidence-based examination, which is exactly what the parties relying on the opinion need to see.
Frequently Asked Questions
On this site, CIME stands for Certified Independent Medical Examiner, a credential awarded through the American Board of Independent Medical Examiners (ABIME). See our page on what a CIME is for more.
The dated 2026 physician exam fee is US$995, with no member/non-member split found. Required training is an additional cost, and current renewal and registry charges are unverified.
The verified sitting time is four hours, delivered online. Availability-window copy varies between 24 hours and one week, so confirm the exact window with ABIME when you register.
A numerical passing score is not published in the reviewed current materials, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Be cautious of any source that quotes a specific figure without citing ABIME.
Yes. Eligibility includes ABIME-sponsored training, and the dated 2026 brochure specifies at least 16 hours, though official documents conflict between 15 and 16. Confirm the requirement with ABIME before enrolling.
Certification runs on a five-year cycle requiring 100 points: 60 from recent CME/CPD within three years and 40 from a recertification exam or the ACIME MAPP route.