CIME logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CIME?

TL;DR
  • CIME here means Certified Independent Medical Examiner, a credential issued by the American Board of Independent Medical Examiners (ABIME).
  • The dated 2026 physician exam fee is US$995, with required training costing extra.
  • The verified sitting time is four hours, delivered online.
  • Maintenance runs on a five-year cycle requiring 100 points, including 60 CME/CPD points from the most recent three years.

What CIME Means: Certified Independent Medical Examiner

In this context, CIME stands for Certified Independent Medical Examiner. It is a credential for physicians who perform independent medical examinations (IMEs) and impairment evaluations: assessments that are done not to treat a patient but to answer a defined medicolegal question. Is the injury work-related? Has the patient reached maximum medical improvement? What is the whole-person impairment rating? What are the functional limitations?

The acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials in other fields, so it pays to be precise. Everything on this page concerns the physician credential awarded through ABIME and nothing else. If you want shorter definitional explainers, our companion pages cover what CIME stands for, the meaning of CIME, and what CIME certification involves. This article goes a layer deeper into how the credential works in practice.

Why the distinction matters: An independent medical examiner does not establish a treating relationship with the examinee. The examiner's duty is to produce an objective, defensible opinion for a third party, such as an insurer, employer, court, or administrative body. That shift in role is the conceptual heart of everything the credential tests and trains.

Who Issues the Credential and How the Exam Is Delivered

The certifying body is the American Board of Independent Medical Examiners (ABIME). The examination is administered online. The third-party proctor or testing vendor is not identified in the sources reviewed, so candidates should confirm proctoring arrangements directly with ABIME when registering rather than assuming a particular platform or in-person testing center.

A few delivery details are firm and others are not:

  • Verified: the sitting time is four hours.
  • Varies by source: the availability window is described as anywhere from 24 hours to one week, depending on which official copy you read. Treat the window as something to confirm at registration. Our page on CIME exam dates and scheduling tracks what is and is not settled.
  • Unverified for the current cycle: the total, scored, and unscored question counts, and the complete item-format specification. An archival booklet references 120 multiple-choice questions, but that has not been confirmed for 2026, so plan for multiple-choice style items without treating that count as a promise.
  • Unverified: detailed rules on calculators, reference books, and proctor procedures. Ask before exam day.

What a Certified Independent Medical Examiner Actually Does

The day-to-day work looks quite different from clinical practice. A typical examination engagement involves reviewing records, taking a history, performing a focused physical examination, and then writing a structured report that answers the referral questions. The report is the product. It may be read by adjusters, attorneys, administrative judges, or case managers, and it may be challenged.

Core examiner responsibilities include:

  • Establishing diagnosis and causation based on records and examination findings
  • Determining whether the condition has plateaued and what treatment remains reasonable
  • Assigning impairment ratings using a recognized methodology, which in this credential's training route means the AMA Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, sixth edition
  • Documenting functional capacity and work restrictions
  • Maintaining neutrality and writing in language that survives cross-examination

Because impairment rating is so central to the training route, much of the credential's substance is methodological. Two examiners looking at the same patient should, if both apply the Guides correctly, land in the same place. Learning to be reproducible is a large part of the discipline.

The Seven Preparation Areas Candidates Work Through

The preparation scope tied to this credential follows seven published ABIME AMA Guides sixth-edition training areas from the August 2026 course. These are unweighted issuer-course topics. They are not an official weighted or exhaustive examination blueprint, and the current domain count and weighting of the actual exam remain unverified. Historical five-domain breakdowns and old three-way 25% ties should not be read as current weights.

With that caveat clear, these seven areas are where a candidate's study time realistically goes. For a fuller treatment, see our complete guide to the seven CIME content areas.

Domain 1: Key Concepts and Methodology of AMA Guides Chapters 1 and 2

The foundation. Before any body-system rating makes sense, you need the Guides' philosophy and procedures.

  • How impairment differs from disability
  • The rating logic used throughout the sixth edition, including how diagnosis-based grids are applied
  • Applying adjustment factors consistently and documenting the reasoning

Domain 2: Spine Impairment Rating

Spine cases are common in injury-related examinations, and the sixth edition's approach to regional spine ratings rewards careful reading of the grids.

  • Selecting the correct diagnostic class from the clinical findings
  • Distinguishing regions and conditions within the spine chapter
  • Reconciling imaging, exam findings, and history before rating

Domain 3: Upper and Lower Limb Impairment Rating

Extremity rating combines diagnosis-based methods with functional and examination adjustments.

  • Joint, tendon, ligament, and fracture-related rating pathways
  • Converting regional extremity impairment to a whole-person figure
  • Handling bilateral and combined impairments correctly

Domain 4: Nervous System Impairment Rating

Neurological ratings span central and peripheral conditions and often depend on clinical judgment about function.

  • Peripheral nerve and entrapment conditions versus central deficits
  • Integrating examination findings with functional assessment
  • Knowing when additional testing results are needed to support a rating

Domain 5: Psychiatric Impairment Rating

Psychiatric rating has its own framework within the Guides and demands careful, evidence-based documentation.

  • Structured approaches to evaluating mental and behavioral conditions
  • Distinguishing diagnosis from functional impact
  • Documenting consistency and reliability of reported symptoms

Domain 6: Internal Medicine, Pulmonary, Cardiology, Eye and ENT Impairment

This broad bundle covers organ-system chapters where objective testing drives the rating.

  • Using pulmonary function and cardiac testing results appropriately
  • Rating visual and ear, nose, and throat conditions
  • Understanding which test thresholds map to which impairment classes

Domain 7: AMA6 Complex Case Studies

Integration practice. Complex cases require pulling several methods together, resolving conflicting information, and producing a defensible final rating.

  • Multi-system and multi-region presentations
  • Prioritizing which rating method governs when more than one could apply
  • Walking through a case from referral question to final opinion
A note on scope: The training also offers an optional South African Road Accident Fund (RAF) bonus session. That session is not treated here as a general examination domain. Likewise, broader medicolegal preparation, such as report writing, ethics of independence, and testimony awareness, is necessary even though it does not map neatly onto one of the seven training areas.

Eligibility: What the Public Documents Say (and Where They Conflict)

Candidates generally need qualifying medical licensure, appropriate practice or specialty credentials, and a clean conduct record. The details are where it gets messy, because official documents do not fully agree:

RequirementWhat Sources ShowHow to Handle It
Years of practiceDocuments conflict between five and ten yearsConfirm directly with ABIME for your situation
ABIME-sponsored training hoursConflicting figures of 15 versus 16 hours; the dated 2026 brochure specifies at least 16Plan for 16 to be safe
Licensure and credentialsQualifying medical licensure, practice/specialty credentials, and conduct requiredGather documentation before applying
Reference countCurrent number needs confirmationAsk ABIME at application

When two official documents disagree, the safest course is to follow the stricter reading and verify in writing. Our CIME requirements guide keeps the eligibility picture current as the sources are reconciled.

Fees, Sitting Time and Format: What Is Verified

The dated 2026 physician exam fee is US$995. No member versus non-member split was found in the reviewed materials. The required training is an additional cost, so the fee alone understates the real outlay. Current renewal and registry charges are unverified. For a line-by-line view of what to budget, see the CIME certification cost breakdown.

On passing standards, be realistic about what is known. A numerical passing score is not published in the reviewed current materials, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Anyone quoting a precise cut score or pass percentage is not working from public ABIME data. The pages on the CIME passing score and the CIME pass rate explain what can and cannot be said responsibly.

Key Takeaway

Budget for both the US$995 exam fee and the separate required training. Then verify the question count, passing standard, and proctoring rules with ABIME before you sit, since those items are not confirmed in public current materials.

Keeping the Credential: The Five-Year, 100-Point Cycle

Certification runs on a five-year cycle, and maintenance is point-based. You need 100 points in total:

  • 60 points from CME/CPD activity completed within the most recent three years
  • 40 points earned through either a recertification exam or the ACIME MAPP route

This structure means the credential rewards ongoing engagement rather than a one-time test. It also means that the work you do after certification, such as keeping current on the Guides and on medicolegal practice, directly supports renewal. Current renewal and registry charges are not verified, so check the latest fee schedule when your cycle approaches.

Where Certified Examiners Find Work

Independent examiners typically work for organizations that need objective medical opinions. Common sources of engagements include:

  • Insurance carriers and third-party administrators handling workers' compensation, disability, and liability claims
  • IME and peer-review vendor companies that coordinate panels of physician examiners
  • Law firms on both the plaintiff and defense sides, seeking impairment ratings or record reviews
  • Employers and self-insured organizations managing return-to-work questions
  • Government and administrative bodies that rely on rated impairment for benefit determinations

Many physicians add examination work alongside a clinical practice, while others build a primarily medicolegal career. Earnings vary widely with volume, specialty, and market, and reliable public figures are scarce. If you are weighing the economics, our CIME salary guide and analysis of whether the certification is worth it work through the trade-offs qualitatively, and the CIME jobs page covers role types.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Seven Areas

You do not need an elaborate method here. What helps is ordering the material so each area builds on the one before it. Start with methodology, because every later rating depends on it, and save the complex case studies for last, since they require everything else.

Weeks 1-2

Methodology first

  • Work through Guides Chapters 1 and 2 until the rating logic feels automatic
  • Practice distinguishing impairment from disability in short scenarios
Weeks 3-4

Musculoskeletal ratings

  • Spine, then upper and lower limb, since they share grid-based reasoning
  • Do worked examples that end in a whole-person figure
Weeks 5-6

Neuro, psychiatric, and organ systems

  • Nervous system and psychiatric chapters, which lean on clinical judgment
  • Internal medicine, pulmonary, cardiology, eye, and ENT, where test thresholds matter
Week 7

Integration

  • Complex multi-system case studies
  • Timed practice to mirror the four-hour sitting

For a fuller plan, see the CIME study guide, and for a quick fact refresher near exam time, the CIME cheat sheet. If you want to gauge how demanding the material feels before committing, read how hard the CIME exam is, and when you are ready to test yourself, start with the CIME practice tests.

Training is its own topic. The ABIME course is what delivers the AMA6 content in structured form, and our CIME training overview explains how it fits alongside self-study. Practice questions on our site are editorially built to reinforce these seven areas; their allocations are editorial rather than official weights, so use them to build fluency, not to infer exam proportions. You can try the full practice question bank at any point in your preparation.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CIME stand for?

CIME stands for Certified Independent Medical Examiner. It is a physician credential awarded through the American Board of Independent Medical Examiners (ABIME) for those who perform independent medical examinations and impairment evaluations. See also what is a CIME.

How much does the CIME exam cost?

The dated 2026 physician exam fee is US$995, and no member versus non-member split was found. The required training is an additional cost, and current renewal and registry charges are unverified.

How long is the CIME exam?

The verified sitting time is four hours, and the exam is delivered online. The availability window is described inconsistently across official copy, ranging from 24 hours to one week, so confirm it at registration. Question counts for the current cycle are unverified.

Is there a published passing score or pass rate?

No. A numerical passing score is not published in the reviewed current materials, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Treat any specific figure you see elsewhere with caution.

How do I keep the credential after I earn it?

Certification runs on a five-year cycle requiring 100 points: 60 from CME/CPD points earned in the most recent three years, and 40 through either a recertification exam or the ACIME MAPP route.

Ready to pass your CIME exam?

Put this into practice with free CIME questions across every exam domain.