CIME logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CIME Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • ABIME does not publicly disclose a CIME pass rate, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
  • The numerical passing score is also unpublished in current reviewed materials, which limits any pass-rate estimate.
  • The online exam fee is US$995 for physicians, and required ABIME training costs extra.
  • Preparation follows seven AMA Guides sixth-edition areas, from spine ratings to complex case studies.

What the Public Data Actually Shows

If you searched for a CIME pass rate hoping for a clean percentage, here is the honest answer: the American Board of Independent Medical Examiners (ABIME), the body behind the Certified Independent Medical Examiner credential, does not publicly disclose one. In the current materials reviewed for 2026, there is no published first-attempt rate, no retake rate, and no cohort-level breakdown.

That is not a gap this article can fill with a guess. Any figure we printed would be invented, and invented pass rates are exactly how candidates end up mis-calibrating their preparation. What we can do is lay out what the public record does support, explain why the number is missing, and show you how to judge your own readiness without it. For a broader view of difficulty, our guide on how hard the CIME exam is works through the qualitative picture.

Bottom line up front: The verifiable facts are the exam format, fee, sitting time, eligibility rules, and training areas. The pass rate itself is not public. Treat any precise percentage as unsourced unless it cites ABIME directly.

Why No Official Pass Rate Exists

Several structural reasons explain the silence, and none of them suggest the exam is a formality.

The credential is small and specialized

The CIME is a niche medicolegal credential for physicians who perform independent medical examinations and impairment ratings. The candidate pool is far smaller than for a mainstream licensing exam, and small pools rarely produce published statistics. Boards for specialized credentials often keep outcome data internal.

The passing standard is itself unpublished

In the current reviewed materials, ABIME does not publish a numerical passing score. Without a disclosed cut score, even a well-meaning third party cannot reconstruct a pass rate from sample results. If you want to understand what is and is not known about the threshold, see our breakdown of the CIME passing score.

Format details are still being confirmed

The current total, scored, and unscored question counts and the complete item-format specification are unverified. An archival booklet references 120 multiple-choice questions, but that figure is not confirmed for 2026, so it should not be treated as the current format.

Why this matters for you: When the cut score, item count, and outcome data are all unpublished, the only reliable signal is your own performance against realistic AMA Guides rating scenarios, not a headline percentage.

Difficulty Signals You Can Verify

Absent a pass rate, difficulty has to be inferred from the structure of the credential. Several verifiable features point to a demanding, applied exam rather than a recall test.

  • Required training comes first. The dated 2026 brochure specifies at least 16 ABIME-sponsored training hours. Candidates are expected to have studied the method before they sit for the exam.
  • Experience requirements apply. Eligibility depends on qualifying medical licensure, practice and specialty credentials, and professional conduct, with documented practice history.
  • The sitting is long. The verified sitting time is four hours, which tests stamina and consistency as much as knowledge.
  • The content is applied rating work. Preparation centers on AMA Guides sixth-edition methodology, where precision in applying tables and grids matters more than memorizing definitions.

Taken together, these features describe an exam where candidates who underprepare on the rating methodology are the ones at risk, regardless of their clinical seniority. A physician can be excellent clinically and still stumble on the formal grid-and-modifier logic the AMA Guides require.

Verified Exam Facts That Frame the Odds

Here is a side-by-side of what is confirmed versus what remains unverified. Use it to separate fact from rumor when you read other sources.

ItemStatus in reviewed 2026 materials
Certifying bodyAmerican Board of Independent Medical Examiners (ABIME)
DeliveryOnline examination; third-party proctor or testing vendor not identified
Physician exam feeUS$995 (dated 2026); no member/non-member split found; required training is extra
Verified sitting timeFour hours
Availability windowCopy varies between 24 hours and one week
Question count and item formatsUnverified for 2026; archival booklet mentions 120 multiple-choice questions
Numerical passing scoreNot published in reviewed current materials
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Weighted blueprintCurrent domain count and weights unverified

Notice how many rows read "unverified" or "not published." That is the real state of public information, and it is why we decline to quote a percentage. For scheduling specifics and how the availability window language varies, see our guide to CIME exam dates and testing windows, and for the full cost picture beyond the exam fee, see the CIME certification cost breakdown.

The Eligibility Filter Shapes Who Sits

One reason raw pass-rate comparisons with other exams mislead is that CIME candidates are not a random sample. They are licensed physicians who have already cleared several gates before the exam window opens.

What the gate looks like

Eligibility requires qualifying medical licensure, practice and specialty credentials, and conduct standards. Official documents conflict on two points: five versus ten years of practice, and 15 versus 16 training hours. The dated 2026 brochure specifies at least 16 ABIME-sponsored hours, so plan around that figure and confirm directly with ABIME before you register. Current details on reference counts and calculator, book, and proctor rules also need confirmation.

Why a pre-screened pool complicates interpretation

A self-selected, experienced, already-trained population would plausibly show different outcomes than a general-population exam. That is speculation about direction, not a statistic, but it explains why a "high" or "low" pass rate quoted from another credential tells you nothing about the CIME. For a full walkthrough of the prerequisites, read CIME requirements and how to qualify.

Key Takeaway

Resolve the eligibility conflicts in writing with ABIME before paying the US$995 fee. Confirm the practice-years requirement and the training-hour count so a paperwork issue never becomes the reason your attempt fails.

Where Candidates Lose Points: Domain-by-Domain Risk

The current domain count and weighted blueprint are unverified, so there is no official weighting to quote. What we can say is that preparation follows seven ABIME AMA Guides sixth-edition training areas from the August 2026 course. These are unweighted issuer-course preparation topics, not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint, and broader medicolegal preparation is also necessary. The risk assessment below is editorial judgment about where rating work tends to get difficult, not published data. See our complete guide to the CIME content areas for deeper coverage.

Domain 1: Key concepts and methodology of AMA Guides Chapters 1 and 2

The foundation for every later rating. Errors here propagate everywhere.

  • How impairment ratings are defined and structured under the sixth edition
  • The conceptual framework behind grids, modifiers, and rating logic
  • Why a methodological slip in an early step corrupts the final number

Domain 2: Spine impairment rating

A frequent real-world referral type, and a place where grid selection discipline matters.

  • Choosing the correct diagnosis-based grid
  • Applying adjustment factors consistently
  • Avoiding double counting across regions

Domain 3: Upper and lower limb impairment rating

Multi-step calculations across joints and regions.

  • Combining regional impairments correctly
  • Converting between regional and whole-person values
  • Handling bilateral and overlapping findings

Domain 4: Nervous system impairment rating

Requires integrating neurological findings into a structured rating.

  • Translating clinical findings into rating categories
  • Distinguishing central from peripheral involvement
  • Documenting the basis for each rating step

Domain 5: Psychiatric impairment rating

Often the least intuitive for non-psychiatrists, because it relies on structured assessment rather than a measurable joint or spine finding.

  • Using the structured functional assessment approach
  • Separating diagnosis from functional impairment
  • Staying objective when records are sparse or conflicting

Domain 6: Internal medicine, pulmonary, cardiology, eye and ENT impairment

A broad span that rewards candidates who prepare it deliberately instead of assuming specialty knowledge will carry them.

  • Organ-system rating logic across several specialties
  • Reconciling test results with rating tables
  • Recognizing when a condition falls outside a given chapter

Domain 7: AMA6 complex case studies

Where everything converges. Cases mix systems and test whether you can sequence a full rating.

  • Combining impairments from multiple body systems
  • Sequencing the rating steps in the correct order
  • Defending each decision against the guide's own rules

One scope note: an optional South African RAF bonus session exists in the August 2026 course, but it is not treated as a general CIME examination domain. Do not spend core preparation time on it unless your practice specifically requires it.

How to Spot Fabricated Pass-Rate Claims

Because the real figure is undisclosed, the internet fills the vacuum. Use these checks before you trust a number.

  1. Look for a named source. A legitimate figure cites ABIME and a date. "Industry estimates say" is not a source.
  2. Check which CIME it describes. The acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials. A pass rate, fee, or exam date that belongs to a different certification will not apply to the Certified Independent Medical Examiner credential.
  3. Be skeptical of round precision. A confident single percentage for a credential that publishes no outcome data is a red flag.
  4. Cross-check against the fee and format. If a page quotes an exam fee or question count that does not match the verified US$995 and four-hour sitting, it is probably describing something else.
Practical rule: If a source cannot tell you the cut score, it cannot honestly tell you the pass rate. The two numbers are linked, and neither is public.

Turning Uncertainty Into a Prep Plan

Since you cannot benchmark against a published pass rate, benchmark against the work itself. The sequence below ties each phase to specific content areas and is an editorial suggestion, not an official schedule. For a fuller plan, see the CIME study guide and the one-page CIME cheat sheet.

Weeks 1-2

Methodology first

  • Work through AMA Guides Chapters 1 and 2 until the rating framework is automatic
  • Do this before touching any body system, because every later domain depends on it
Weeks 3-5

Musculoskeletal and nervous system

  • Spine, then upper and lower limb, then nervous system ratings
  • Practice full calculations, not just grid lookups
Weeks 6-7

Psychiatric and multi-system content

  • Schedule psychiatric rating early in this block while energy is high
  • Cover internal medicine, pulmonary, cardiology, eye and ENT
Week 8

Complex cases and timed runs

  • Complete multi-system AMA6 case studies end to end
  • Simulate the four-hour sitting to build stamina

To pressure-test yourself against realistic questions, use the CIME practice tests and review each missed item back to the specific chapter and rating step that caused the error. Practice-question allocations on the site are editorial rather than official weights. You can also work through our full practice exam environment to rehearse the sitting length.

After the Result: Recertification Cycle

Earning the credential is not the end of the cost or effort. The certification and maintenance of certification cycle is five years and requires 100 points. Of those, 60 come from recent three-year CME or CPD points, and 40 come through either a recertification exam or the ACIME MAPP route. Current renewal and registry charges are unverified, so confirm them with ABIME rather than relying on older figures.

This matters for the pass-rate question because it reframes the goal: the credential is a maintained professional standard, not a one-time hurdle. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our ROI analysis of the CIME and the overview of CIME jobs cover who hires for it and how the credential fits into medicolegal practice. If you are earlier in your decision, what CIME certification is is a good starting point.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CIME pass rate in 2026?

It is not publicly disclosed. ABIME does not publish a pass rate in the reviewed current materials, so any specific percentage you encounter is unverified unless it cites ABIME directly with a date.

Is there a published passing score for the CIME exam?

No numerical passing score appears in the reviewed current materials. Because the cut score is unpublished, a pass rate cannot be reliably reconstructed from outside data.

How much does the CIME exam cost?

The dated 2026 physician exam fee is US$995, with no member or non-member split found. Required ABIME training is an additional cost, and current renewal and registry charges are unverified.

How long is the CIME exam?

The verified sitting time is four hours, and it is delivered online. Availability-window copy varies between 24 hours and one week, and the current question count and item formats are unverified for 2026.

What should I study without a pass rate to guide me?

Prepare across the seven AMA Guides sixth-edition areas, from methodology in Chapters 1 and 2 through spine, limb, nervous system, psychiatric, multi-system impairment, and complex case studies. These are course preparation topics, not an official weighted blueprint, so add broader medicolegal preparation as well.

Ready to pass your CIME exam?

Put this into practice with free CIME questions across every exam domain.