CIME logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CIME Certification

TL;DR
  • CIME means Certified Independent Medical Examiner, awarded by the American Board of Independent Medical Examiners (ABIME) through an online examination.
  • The dated 2026 physician exam fee is US$995, with required training billed separately.
  • The verified sitting time is four hours; the passing score and pass rate are not publicly published.
  • Preparation centers on seven AMA Guides sixth-edition training areas, which are not an official weighted blueprint.

What the Certified Independent Medical Examiner Credential Is

The Certified Independent Medical Examiner credential is aimed at licensed physicians who perform impairment evaluations and independent medical examinations in medicolegal, workers' compensation, disability and personal injury contexts. Holding it signals that an examiner has been trained in a standardized approach to rating permanent impairment and in the discipline of writing a defensible, unbiased report. If you are still orienting yourself, the overview pages What Is CIME? and What Does CIME Stand For? cover the basics, and this article goes deeper on the certification pathway itself.

One point of caution matters before anything else: the acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials in other fields. Everything on this page concerns the physician-facing Certified Independent Medical Examiner credential administered by ABIME, and nothing here applies to any other program that happens to use the same letters.

Who Issues It and How the Exam Is Delivered

The issuing body is the American Board of Independent Medical Examiners. The examination is delivered online. Reviewed public materials do not identify a third-party proctoring or testing vendor, so candidates should confirm the exact proctoring arrangement, and any rules about calculators, reference books or the number of permitted references, directly with ABIME before booking. Those detailed rules were not verifiable in current public documents.

The one timing fact that is verified is the sitting length: four hours. Beyond that, the picture is less tidy:

  • Availability window: official copy varies between a 24-hour window and a one-week window, so confirm which applies to your cohort.
  • Question count: an archival booklet mentions 120 multiple-choice questions, but that figure is not confirmed for 2026, and the current total, scored and unscored counts are unverified.
  • Item formats: a complete specification of item types is not available in the current public materials.
Treat archival numbers as history, not rules: A 120-question multiple-choice figure appears in an older booklet. Until ABIME confirms it for your sitting, plan for four hours of sustained work on applied, case-style content rather than building your pacing around a specific item count.

For a closer look at timing and scheduling questions, see CIME Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Eligibility: Where the Official Documents Disagree

Eligibility is built on qualifying medical licensure, practice and specialty credentials, and professional conduct. The details, however, are not consistent across ABIME documents, and a careful candidate should know exactly where the conflicts sit rather than rely on a single secondary source.

RequirementWhat the sources sayHow to handle it
Years of practiceOfficial documents conflict between five and ten yearsConfirm directly with ABIME for your situation
Required training hoursDocuments conflict between 15 and 16 hoursThe dated 2026 brochure specifies at least 16 ABIME-sponsored hours; plan for 16
Licensure and credentialsQualifying medical licensure plus practice/specialty credentials and conductGather license and board documentation early

The practical advice is to plan to the stricter figure. If you assume 16 sponsored training hours and the true requirement turns out to be 15, you have lost nothing. If you assume 15 and the requirement is 16, you may delay your own sitting. A fuller walkthrough of prerequisites is in CIME Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Fees and Registration Mechanics

The dated 2026 physician examination fee is US$995. No member versus non-member split was found in the reviewed materials, so there is no discount tier to plan around. Two cost points deserve emphasis:

  • The required training is an additional expense on top of the exam fee.
  • Current renewal and registry charges are unverified, so budget for them as a placeholder until ABIME publishes or confirms figures.

Because training is mandatory and separately priced, the true entry cost is the exam fee plus the sponsored course, plus whatever reference materials you choose to buy. A fuller breakdown lives in CIME Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and a return-on-investment view is in Is the CIME Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

The Seven Preparation Areas

Preparation for this credential follows seven published ABIME AMA Guides sixth-edition training areas drawn from the August 2026 course. These are the topics the issuer's own course covers on the AMA6 impairment-evaluation route. They are unweighted preparation topics, not an official weighted or exhaustive examination blueprint, and broader medicolegal preparation is also necessary. The domain-by-domain framing is expanded in CIME Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Key concepts and methodology of AMA Guides Chapters 1 and 2

This is the foundation for everything that follows. Chapters 1 and 2 establish how the Guides define impairment, how ratings are meant to be applied, and how an examiner is expected to reason through a case.

  • The distinction between impairment and disability
  • The logic of the rating process and the sequence of steps in applying it
  • Consistency, reproducibility and the examiner's obligations in documentation

Domain 2: Spine impairment rating

Spine cases are common in workers' compensation and injury claims, so fluency here is practically valuable as well as examinable.

  • Applying the sixth-edition spine methodology to clinical findings
  • Reading history, examination and imaging findings into a defensible rating
  • Recognizing when documentation is insufficient to support a rating

Domain 3: Upper and lower limb impairment rating

Extremity ratings reward careful, region-by-region application of the Guides' grids and adjustments.

  • Selecting the correct diagnosis-based class
  • Applying functional, physical examination and clinical studies modifiers
  • Avoiding double-counting when more than one structure is involved

Domain 4: Nervous system impairment rating

Neurological ratings require both clinical interpretation and disciplined use of the Guides' criteria.

  • Linking neurological deficits to the appropriate rating framework
  • Distinguishing central from peripheral findings in a rating context
  • Documenting the findings that justify a particular class

Domain 5: Psychiatric impairment rating

Psychiatric impairment rating is often where examiners feel least certain, because the evidence base is behavioral and the potential for disagreement is high.

  • Applying the Guides' approach to mental and behavioral impairment
  • Separating diagnosis from functional impact
  • Writing conclusions that withstand scrutiny from opposing parties

Domain 6: Internal medicine, pulmonary, cardiology, eye and ENT impairment

This is a broad grouping of organ-system chapters. The challenge is breadth: each system has its own testing inputs and its own rating structure.

  • Pulmonary and cardiovascular ratings that depend on objective test results
  • Eye and ENT ratings that depend on specialized measurements
  • Knowing which supporting data a rating requires before you can assign a class

Domain 7: AMA6 complex case studies

Complex case studies integrate the earlier areas. A single scenario may involve multiple body regions, competing opinions, or incomplete records, and the task is to reason through the whole picture.

  • Combining ratings from more than one body system correctly
  • Handling ambiguous or conflicting medical records
  • Producing a coherent, defensible conclusion from messy input
What is deliberately excluded: The optional South African RAF bonus session offered alongside the course is not treated as a general examination domain. Do not spend core study time on it unless it is specifically relevant to your practice.

What Is and Is Not Publicly Known

Candidates searching for hard numbers will find that several of the most-asked figures are simply not published in current reviewed materials. Being honest about this saves you from chasing fabricated statistics.

ItemStatus
Exam fee (physician)US$995, dated 2026
Sitting timeFour hours, verified
Number of questionsUnverified for 2026; archival booklet mentions 120 multiple-choice
Numerical passing scoreNot published in reviewed current materials
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Weighted domain blueprintCurrent weights unverified
Renewal and registry chargesUnverified

This matters most for the passing score and pass rate. Anyone quoting a precise cutoff or success percentage is not drawing on a published ABIME figure. For the full picture of what is and is not known, read CIME Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass and CIME Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows, and see How Hard Is the CIME Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 for a qualitative read on difficulty.

There is also a trap around older material. AMA5 and AMA6 offerings both exist, but no current dated weighted outline was verified, and historical rows that show a three-way 25% tie among areas should not be treated as current weights. Because the sixth-edition route is the one described in the August 2026 course, orient your preparation to AMA6 unless ABIME instructs otherwise for your sitting.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains

Because the seven areas are unweighted, a sensible plan front-loads the foundation and finishes with integration, rather than guessing which domain carries the most marks. The logic below ties the order to how the domains depend on one another.

Week 1

Domain 1: Chapters 1 and 2

  • Master the vocabulary and the stepwise rating logic first, because every later domain reuses it
  • Work through how impairment differs from disability
Weeks 2-3

Domains 2, 3 and 4: Spine, limbs, nervous system

  • Practice classifying and applying modifiers on region-based cases
  • Pair spine and nervous system work, since the findings often overlap in real files
Week 4

Domains 5 and 6: Psychiatric and organ systems

  • Schedule the psychiatric domain when you are fresh, as it demands careful reasoning
  • Build a one-page list of the objective tests each organ-system rating requires
Week 5

Domain 7: Complex case studies

  • Attempt multi-region cases only after the individual chapters feel solid
  • Review errors by asking which earlier domain the mistake actually came from

This sequence is a scaffold, not an official timetable, and your own gaps should reorder it. A fuller treatment, including how to prioritize when time is short, is in the CIME Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and a condensed reference is available in the CIME Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. For realistic practice on applied, case-style items, the CIME Exam Prep practice test site is the best place to build speed and accuracy before test day.

Key Takeaway

Do not let the missing blueprint weights push you into narrow study. Because Domain 7 integrates the other six, weak spots in any single chapter will resurface in the complex cases. Cover all seven areas, then use case practice to expose the gaps.

Maintaining the Credential: The 100-Point Cycle

Certification is not permanent. The maintenance cycle is five years and requires 100 points, split into two parts:

  1. 60 points from recent CME/CPD activity, specifically within the most recent three years.
  2. 40 points through either a recertification examination or the ACIME MAPP route.

The choice between those two routes for the final 40 points is a planning decision you can make years in advance, depending on whether you prefer to sit an exam again or complete the program-based alternative. Current renewal and registry charges are unverified, so keep a note to confirm fees well ahead of your renewal date. Because the 60 CME/CPD points must be recent, collecting them steadily across the cycle is safer than trying to accumulate them in a rush at the end.

Who Uses the Credential

The certification is relevant wherever a physician is asked to give an impartial opinion on impairment or medical causation. Typical settings include workers' compensation systems, disability determinations, personal injury and other litigation, and insurer or third-party administrator panels that retain examiners to review claimants. Law firms and claims organizations look for examiners whose methodology is standardized and whose reports hold up under challenge, and the sixth-edition training route is designed to support exactly that.

Because the credential supports a particular kind of medicolegal work, how it affects your income depends heavily on how much examination work you take on and in what jurisdiction. No specific earnings figure is published here, and any number you encounter should be checked against its source. For a qualitative discussion, see CIME Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and CIME Jobs, and for background on the training that precedes the exam, see CIME Training.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CIME stand for in this context?

CIME stands for Certified Independent Medical Examiner, a credential issued by the American Board of Independent Medical Examiners (ABIME). Other unrelated credentials share the acronym, so make sure any resource you rely on is about the ABIME physician credential. See What Does CIME Stand For? for more.

How much does the exam cost?

The dated 2026 physician examination fee is US$995, with no member versus non-member split found. The required training is an additional cost, and current renewal and registry charges are unverified.

How long is the exam and how many questions does it have?

The verified sitting time is four hours. The current number of questions and the full item-format specification are not confirmed; an archival booklet mentions 120 multiple-choice questions, but that figure has not been verified for 2026.

What score do I need to pass?

A numerical passing score is not published in the reviewed current materials, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Be cautious of any source that states a precise cutoff or success percentage.

How often must the certification be renewed?

The cycle is five years and requires 100 points: 60 from recent CME/CPD within the last three years, plus 40 through a recertification exam or the ACIME MAPP route. Confirm current renewal fees with ABIME before your due date.

Ready to pass your CIME exam?

Put this into practice with free CIME questions across every exam domain.